British Darts Organisation pays lowest prize since 1989 to Champion Wayne Warren

British Darts Organisation world champion Wayne Warren will receive £23,000 for winning the 2020 title – 77% less than the previous winner.

In contrast, Peter Wright received £500,000 for winning the rival PDC World Darts Championship.

Warren became the oldest world darts champion after beating fellow Welshman Jim Williams 7-4 in Sunday’s BDO final.

His winnings are the lowest since Jocky Wilson won £20,000 for beating Eric Bristow in the 1989 final.

The winners from 2010 to 2019 all received a £100,000 prize.

In a letter sent to players seen by the BBC, BDO chairman Des Jacklin explained that a lack of sponsorship was behind the prize fund reduction as the full breakdown was issued to players.

Powered by Live Score & Live Score App